Cinema Eye Awards 2014/ The Oscars

No objections at all to the fact that the most important Cinema Eye Awards 2014 went to “The Act of Killing” by Joshua Oppenheimer and “Stories We Tell “ by Sarah Polley. The latter for “Outstanding Achievement in Direction”, “The Act of Killing” for “Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking” and “Outstanding Achievement in Production” given to Danish producer Signe Byrge Sørensen. So well deserved!

All awards are listed in the report from Hollywood Reporter, link below. I would like to highlight the “Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography” that of course went to “Leviathan” by Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Véréna Paravel and the so-called Spotlight Award for Chilean “The Last Station” (photo) by Cristian Soto and Catalina Vergara.

The Oscar nomination – the 5 titles for the grande finale – will be announced next week and Hollywood Reporter makes the following interesting reflection:

“The results (of the Cinema Eye awards) do not necessarily reflect the same tastes as the documentary branch of the Academy that determines the best documentary feature Oscar nominees — the Cinema Eye Honors’ nominees are determined by journalists and film festival organizers, not filmmakers, but the winners are chosen by several hundred filmmakers, amongst whom are many members of the Academy’s doc branch. In any case, the outcome of the Cinema Eye Honors will not sway the doc branch’s selection of nominees, since Oscar nomination voting ended on Wednesday night at 5 p.m. PST. But if these same films can make it past the announcement of the Oscar nominees on Jan. 16 — over other top contenders such as Jehane Noujaim’s The Square, Gabriela Cowperthwaite’s Blackfish, Morgan Neville’s 20 Feet From Stardom and Teller’s Tim’s Vermeer — then a raised profile certainly won’t hurt them in the final round of Oscar voting.”

Share your love
Tue Steen Müller
Tue Steen Müller

Müller, Tue Steen
Documentary Consultant and Critic, DENMARK

Worked with documentary films for more than 20 years at the Danish Film Board, as press officer, festival representative and film consultant/commissioner. Co-founder of Balticum Film and TV Festival, Filmkontakt Nord, Documentary of the EU and EDN (European Documentary Network).
Awards: 2004 the Danish Roos Prize for his contribution to the Danish and European documentary culture. 2006 an award for promoting Portuguese documentaries. 2014 he received the EDN Award “for an outstanding contribution to the development of the European documentary culture”. 2016 The Cross of the Knight of the Order for Merits to Lithuania. 2019 a Big Stamp at the 15th edition of ZagrebDox. 2021 receipt of the highest state decoration, Order of the Three Stars, Fourth Class, for the significant contribution to the development and promotion of Latvian documentary cinema outside Latvia. In 2022 he received an honorary award at DocsBarcelona’s 25th edition having served as organizer and programmer since the start of the festival.
From 1996 until 2005 he was the first director of EDN (European Documentary Network). From 2006 a freelance consultant and teacher in workshops like Ex Oriente, DocsBarcelona, Archidoc, Documentary Campus, Storydoc, Baltic Sea Forum, Black Sea DocStories, Caucadoc, CinéDOC Tbilisi, Docudays Kiev, Dealing With the Past Sarajevo FF as well as programme consultant for the festivals Magnificent7 in Belgrade, DOCSBarcelona, Verzio Budapest, Message2Man in St. Petersburg and DOKLeipzig. Teaches at the Zelig Documentary School in Bolzano Italy.

Articles: 3876