Oscar Nominations January 10

At the beginning of December 2012 15 documentary flms were shortlisted. Tomorrow (I am writing this January 9 late evening) 15 will become 5. Originally there were 126 official submissions, that were taken down to these 15:

Alison Klayman’S “Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry,”

Lee Hirsch’s “Bully,”

Jeff Orlowski’s “Chasing Ice,” (photo)

Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady’s “Detropia”,

Rory Kennedy’s “Ethel”,

Emad Burnat and Guy Davidi’s “5 Broken Cameras“,

Dror Moreh’s “The Gatekeepers,”

Eugene Jarecki’s “The House I Live In,”

David France’s “How To Survive a Plague”,

Bart Layton’s “The Imposter”,

Kirby Dick’s “The Invisible War,”

Alex Gibney’s “Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence in the House of God,”

Malik Bendjelloul’s “Searching for Sugar Man,”

Mojtaba Mirtahmasb and Jafar Panahi’s “This Is Not a Film”,

Peter Nicks’ “The Waiting Room”.

I have seen 6 of them and they are all good films although I found ”The Invisible War” (shown on Danish DR yesterday night) far too long and repititive touching a very important theme: sexual abuse in the American army. Of the others I read in Danish newspapers a lukewarm review of the film about Ai Weiwei, Juste Eigminaite praised ”Chasing Ice” on filmkommentaren.dk, Bart Layton’s ”The Imposter” is on all hit lists as an original film, Alex Gibney is a fine filmmaker…

Why bother? There are many great films that should have been nominated for an Oscar. Of course, but having been in New York during the month of December, checking the movies pages of newspapers, watching tabloid US television, you get hooked and seeing ”5 Broken Cameras”, ”The Gatekeepers” (review will follow one of the coming days), ”Searching for Sugarman” and ”This is not a Film” among the 15, quality is there. The question is how many of these 4 will survive for the final? We will know tomorrow.

Share your love
Tue Steen Müller
Tue Steen Müller

Müller, Tue Steen
Documentary Consultant and Critic, DENMARK

Worked with documentary films for more than 20 years at the Danish Film Board, as press officer, festival representative and film consultant/commissioner. Co-founder of Balticum Film and TV Festival, Filmkontakt Nord, Documentary of the EU and EDN (European Documentary Network).
Awards: 2004 the Danish Roos Prize for his contribution to the Danish and European documentary culture. 2006 an award for promoting Portuguese documentaries. 2014 he received the EDN Award “for an outstanding contribution to the development of the European documentary culture”. 2016 The Cross of the Knight of the Order for Merits to Lithuania. 2019 a Big Stamp at the 15th edition of ZagrebDox. 2021 receipt of the highest state decoration, Order of the Three Stars, Fourth Class, for the significant contribution to the development and promotion of Latvian documentary cinema outside Latvia. In 2022 he received an honorary award at DocsBarcelona’s 25th edition having served as organizer and programmer since the start of the festival.
From 1996 until 2005 he was the first director of EDN (European Documentary Network). From 2006 a freelance consultant and teacher in workshops like Ex Oriente, DocsBarcelona, Archidoc, Documentary Campus, Storydoc, Baltic Sea Forum, Black Sea DocStories, Caucadoc, CinéDOC Tbilisi, Docudays Kiev, Dealing With the Past Sarajevo FF as well as programme consultant for the festivals Magnificent7 in Belgrade, DOCSBarcelona, Verzio Budapest, Message2Man in St. Petersburg and DOKLeipzig. Teaches at the Zelig Documentary School in Bolzano Italy.

Articles: 3872