Awards/CPH:DOX 20

2008 CPH:DOX awards have been given out at the CPH:DOX Galla.

DOX:AWARD 2008: went to Anders Østergaard for “Burma VJ”, with a Special Mention to Mark Hammersberg, Ester Martin Bergsmark and Beatrice Maggie Andersson for “Maggie in Wonderland” (see review).

DANISH DOX AWARD 2008: The award for best Danish documentary was given out for the first time this year, and was split between Nikolaj Viborg’s “69” and Tina Katinka Jensen for “Solange on Love” (see review), with a Special Mention to Janus Metz for “From Thy to Thailand” (see review) and Christian Sønderby for “Side by Side” (see review).

AMNESTY AWARD 2008: This year’s Amnesty Award goes to Anders Østergaard for “Burma VJ”, with a Special Mention to Joseph Bullman for the courageous and provocative “Dynamiters, Assassins, Fiends”.

NEW VISION AWARD 2008: goes to Michel Auder for “The Feature”, with a Special Mention to Apichatpong Weerasethakul for “Morakot”.

SOUND AND VISION AWARD 2008: The Award for best music documentary goes to Sacha Gervasi for “Anvil! The Story of Anvil”, with a Special Mention to Margarita Jimeno for her debut film “Gogol Bordello Non-Stop”.

DOC ALLIANCE AWARD 2008: This year’s special Doc Alliance Award goes to Pavel Koutecky and Miroslav Janek for “Citizen Havel” (see review).

Politikens Publikumspris: has been chosen by the readers of Politiken, and goes to Nikolaj Viborg for “69”.

Still: Burma VJ

Share your love
Tue Steen Müller
Tue Steen Müller

Müller, Tue Steen
Documentary Consultant and Critic, DENMARK

Worked with documentary films for more than 20 years at the Danish Film Board, as press officer, festival representative and film consultant/commissioner. Co-founder of Balticum Film and TV Festival, Filmkontakt Nord, Documentary of the EU and EDN (European Documentary Network).
Awards: 2004 the Danish Roos Prize for his contribution to the Danish and European documentary culture. 2006 an award for promoting Portuguese documentaries. 2014 he received the EDN Award “for an outstanding contribution to the development of the European documentary culture”. 2016 The Cross of the Knight of the Order for Merits to Lithuania. 2019 a Big Stamp at the 15th edition of ZagrebDox. 2021 receipt of the highest state decoration, Order of the Three Stars, Fourth Class, for the significant contribution to the development and promotion of Latvian documentary cinema outside Latvia. In 2022 he received an honorary award at DocsBarcelona’s 25th edition having served as organizer and programmer since the start of the festival.
From 1996 until 2005 he was the first director of EDN (European Documentary Network). From 2006 a freelance consultant and teacher in workshops like Ex Oriente, DocsBarcelona, Archidoc, Documentary Campus, Storydoc, Baltic Sea Forum, Black Sea DocStories, Caucadoc, CinéDOC Tbilisi, Docudays Kiev, Dealing With the Past Sarajevo FF as well as programme consultant for the festivals Magnificent7 in Belgrade, DOCSBarcelona, Verzio Budapest, Message2Man in St. Petersburg and DOKLeipzig. Teaches at the Zelig Documentary School in Bolzano Italy.

Articles: 3876