Cinema Eye Honors 2013

Awards are being lined up to be distributed these days. The Oscar nominees will be announced in a couple of hours and in three days the Golde Globe comes up. Good for cinema with all this artificial competition?, maybe, good for publicity for the documentary genre in general, I think so. Here is another one, Cinema Eye, quite interesting:

Just a couple of lines about the Cinema Eye Honors taken from the press release that was received this morning: The Cinema Eye Honors were founded in 2007 to recognize excellence in artistry and craft in nonfiction filmmaking.  It remains the only international nonfiction award to recognize the whole creative team, presenting annual craft awards in directing, producing, cinematography, editing, composing and graphic design/animation.

Lovely to see “5 Broken Cameras” (photo) by Emad Burnat and Guy Davidi to receive the main recognition for “Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Filmmaking”. Michael Moore accepted the award for the two directors, saying ““I personally feel it’s one of the most beautiful pieces of artistic cinema, you don’t see this on the evening news. You don’t see Palestinians portrayed this way.”

Direction prize went to Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady for “Detropia”, the audience chose “Bully” by Lee Hirsch and Jeff Orlowski was honored for an outstanding achievement in cinematography for “Chasing Ice”. Not to forget a film close to the heart of this blogger, “Argentinian Lesson” by Wojciech Staron, which got the “Spotlight Award”. More to be read about on the website, also that a Legacy Award was presented to Chris Hegedus and D A Pennebaker for “The War Room”, a classic in documentary history.

Share your love
Tue Steen Müller
Tue Steen Müller

Müller, Tue Steen
Documentary Consultant and Critic, DENMARK

Worked with documentary films for more than 20 years at the Danish Film Board, as press officer, festival representative and film consultant/commissioner. Co-founder of Balticum Film and TV Festival, Filmkontakt Nord, Documentary of the EU and EDN (European Documentary Network).
Awards: 2004 the Danish Roos Prize for his contribution to the Danish and European documentary culture. 2006 an award for promoting Portuguese documentaries. 2014 he received the EDN Award “for an outstanding contribution to the development of the European documentary culture”. 2016 The Cross of the Knight of the Order for Merits to Lithuania. 2019 a Big Stamp at the 15th edition of ZagrebDox. 2021 receipt of the highest state decoration, Order of the Three Stars, Fourth Class, for the significant contribution to the development and promotion of Latvian documentary cinema outside Latvia. In 2022 he received an honorary award at DocsBarcelona’s 25th edition having served as organizer and programmer since the start of the festival.
From 1996 until 2005 he was the first director of EDN (European Documentary Network). From 2006 a freelance consultant and teacher in workshops like Ex Oriente, DocsBarcelona, Archidoc, Documentary Campus, Storydoc, Baltic Sea Forum, Black Sea DocStories, Caucadoc, CinéDOC Tbilisi, Docudays Kiev, Dealing With the Past Sarajevo FF as well as programme consultant for the festivals Magnificent7 in Belgrade, DOCSBarcelona, Verzio Budapest, Message2Man in St. Petersburg and DOKLeipzig. Teaches at the Zelig Documentary School in Bolzano Italy.

Articles: 3839