Message2Man Awards and Results

The English version of the M2M in St.Petersburg awards and statistics was published today on the website of the festival. I have taken some clips from the long text, the whole press release you can find clicking the link below:

”At the closing ceremony, the festival juries announced the winners, the director of the festival presented overall results of this year’s Message to Man and set goals for the future. For the first time in festival’s history, the opening ceremony of Message to Man was held on Palace square. The grand celebration was attended by more than 20,000 people. Many Russian and international film stars took part in the 25th festival. Among the jury members and special guests of Message to Man were Nastassja Kinski, Brilliant Mendoza, Jean Roy, Mikhail Iampolski, Vladimir Posner, Rudolf Thome, Velimir ilnik, Alice Rohrwacher and 45 other guests from 22 different countries… Altogether more than 30,000 people attended the festival’s events between September, 26th and October, 2nd…

And the prizes that were given to documentary films:

The Danya Gurevich Prize went to the Director of Photography of THE CONVERSATION Pavel Skvortsov. The prize was presented by Ludmila, Gurevich family friend.

The Viktor Astafiyev Prize went to EDGES OF MEMORY by Anton Moiseenko. The prize was presented by the daughter of the writer Viktor Astafiyev Anastasia Astafieva.

The Pavel Kogan Prize went to IN SEARCH OF HAPPINESS by Dmitry Sidorov and Svetlana Demidova. The prize was presented by the President of Pavel and Lyalya Fund Ludmila Stanukinas. 

The Bellona foundation Special Prize went to SEE NO EVIL by Jos de Putter (Netherlands, Belgium).

The St. Petersburg Labour Union Federation Special Prize for best documentary film about the working man (RUR 100,000) was awarded to SIBERIAN FLOATING HOSPITAL by Tatiana Sobolewa (Russia).

Message to Man Honorary President’s Prize went to VARICELLA, short documentary film by Viktor Kosakovsky (Russia). The prize was presented by the Honorary President of Message to Man director Mikhail Litvyakov.

The Student Jury Prize was awarded to THE OTHER SIDE by Roberto Minervini (France, Italy).

The International Federation of Film Critics (FIPRESCI) Prize went to ABOVE AND BELOW by Nicolas Steiner (Sweden, Germany, Unites States).

The Russian Press Jury Prize was awarded to CALL ME MARIANNA by Karolina Bielawska (Poland).

Diploma of the National Competition “For breaking stereotypes” was awarded to IN SEARCH OF HAPPINESS by Dmitry Sidorov and Svetlana Demidova (Russia).

Centaur Prize and RUR 20,000 for best debut film in the National Competition went to YAMAHA by Inna Omelchenko.

Centaur Prize and RUR 30,000 for best short documentary film in the National Competition went to YAMAHA by Inna Omelchenko.

Centaur Prize and RUR 30,000 for best full-length documentary film in the National Competition went to CEREMONY by Elena Laskari.

Special Prize of the International Jury was awarded to FREE BULLET by Caroline Detournay and Paulina Pisarev.

Centaur Prize and USD 1,000 for best debut was awarded to THE SHEPHERD’S SONG by Vahram Mkhitaryan (Poland, Armenia).

Centaur Prize and USD 1,000 for best short documentary film was awarded to IF MAMA AIN’T HAPPY, NOBODY’S HAPPY by Mea Dols de Jong (the Netherlands).

Golden Centaur Grand Prix and USD 5,000 for best film was awarded to CALL ME MARIANNA by Karolina Bielawska (Poland).

Share your love
Tue Steen Müller
Tue Steen Müller

Müller, Tue Steen
Documentary Consultant and Critic, DENMARK

Worked with documentary films for more than 20 years at the Danish Film Board, as press officer, festival representative and film consultant/commissioner. Co-founder of Balticum Film and TV Festival, Filmkontakt Nord, Documentary of the EU and EDN (European Documentary Network).
Awards: 2004 the Danish Roos Prize for his contribution to the Danish and European documentary culture. 2006 an award for promoting Portuguese documentaries. 2014 he received the EDN Award “for an outstanding contribution to the development of the European documentary culture”. 2016 The Cross of the Knight of the Order for Merits to Lithuania. 2019 a Big Stamp at the 15th edition of ZagrebDox. 2021 receipt of the highest state decoration, Order of the Three Stars, Fourth Class, for the significant contribution to the development and promotion of Latvian documentary cinema outside Latvia. In 2022 he received an honorary award at DocsBarcelona’s 25th edition having served as organizer and programmer since the start of the festival.
From 1996 until 2005 he was the first director of EDN (European Documentary Network). From 2006 a freelance consultant and teacher in workshops like Ex Oriente, DocsBarcelona, Archidoc, Documentary Campus, Storydoc, Baltic Sea Forum, Black Sea DocStories, Caucadoc, CinéDOC Tbilisi, Docudays Kiev, Dealing With the Past Sarajevo FF as well as programme consultant for the festivals Magnificent7 in Belgrade, DOCSBarcelona, Verzio Budapest, Message2Man in St. Petersburg and DOKLeipzig. Teaches at the Zelig Documentary School in Bolzano Italy.

Articles: 3866