Nordisk Panorama Competition Announced

“Nordisk Panorama Film Festival takes place between 16-21 September in Malmö, Sweden. Out of 616 submitted titles, 50 films have now officially been selected to partake in this year’s Nordic championship in documentary and short film production – Nordisk Panorama Awards…”,

words from the start of the press release that came in today, I add this information on the documentary competition: “Jury: Grit Lemke, DOK Leipzig (Germany) Chris Hastings, World Channel (USA), Camilla Nielsson, Winner of Best Nordic Documentary Award 2015 (Denmark)…”, the latter standing behind one of the most important documentaries from the last years, “Democrats”.

Let me mention some of the titles from the category “Best Nordic Documentary” starting with a salute for the choice of the controversial Andrei Nekrasov film “The Magnitsky Act” that other festivals have rejected because of fear for being sued by the powerful main protagonist. Otherwise it is obvious that Swedish/Polish Jerzy Sladkowski is there with “Don Juan”, Sara Broos with “Reflections”, the Gertten brothers with “Becoming Zlatan”, Norwegian Aslaug Holm with “Brothers” and Nicole Horanyi with “Motley’s Law”. These are all films that we have given positive reviews on this site.

Soon we will bring a review of “Those Who Jump” by Estephan Wagner, Moritz Siebert & Abou Bakar Sidibé – a film that has an international life as has Andreas Johnsen with his “Bugs”…

Bon appetit!

Share your love
Tue Steen Müller
Tue Steen Müller

Müller, Tue Steen
Documentary Consultant and Critic, DENMARK

Worked with documentary films for more than 20 years at the Danish Film Board, as press officer, festival representative and film consultant/commissioner. Co-founder of Balticum Film and TV Festival, Filmkontakt Nord, Documentary of the EU and EDN (European Documentary Network).
Awards: 2004 the Danish Roos Prize for his contribution to the Danish and European documentary culture. 2006 an award for promoting Portuguese documentaries. 2014 he received the EDN Award “for an outstanding contribution to the development of the European documentary culture”. 2016 The Cross of the Knight of the Order for Merits to Lithuania. 2019 a Big Stamp at the 15th edition of ZagrebDox. 2021 receipt of the highest state decoration, Order of the Three Stars, Fourth Class, for the significant contribution to the development and promotion of Latvian documentary cinema outside Latvia. In 2022 he received an honorary award at DocsBarcelona’s 25th edition having served as organizer and programmer since the start of the festival.
From 1996 until 2005 he was the first director of EDN (European Documentary Network). From 2006 a freelance consultant and teacher in workshops like Ex Oriente, DocsBarcelona, Archidoc, Documentary Campus, Storydoc, Baltic Sea Forum, Black Sea DocStories, Caucadoc, CinéDOC Tbilisi, Docudays Kiev, Dealing With the Past Sarajevo FF as well as programme consultant for the festivals Magnificent7 in Belgrade, DOCSBarcelona, Verzio Budapest, Message2Man in St. Petersburg and DOKLeipzig. Teaches at the Zelig Documentary School in Bolzano Italy.

Articles: 3876