A press release from Montréal, where the RIDM Festival resides, this year from November 7-18. The festival has chosen to celebrate its 15th edition with a “special anniversary program, 15 Years, 15 All-Time Favourites”… “to mark our first 15 years, we invited 15 major figures from the film world to program their all-time favourite documentary. The result: 15 personal choices that add up to a unique subjective history of the first cinematic genre, presented together as a special program.”

The guest programmers and their picks: Lou Reed chose Visions of Light (Arnold Glassman, Todd McCarthy, Stuart Samuels) 
Barbet Schroeder chose Capturing the Friedmans (Andrew Jarecki) 
Agnès Varda chose La France qui se lève tôt (Hugo Chesnard) 
Frederick Wiseman chose Hôtel Terminus (Marcel Ophüls) 
Philippe Falardeau chose Une délégation de très haut niveau (Philippe Dutilleul) 
Gael García Bernal chose Megacities (Michael Glawogger) (PHOTO) 
Philip Glass chose The Color of the Prism, the Mechanics of Time (Jacqueline Caux) 
Patrizio Guzmán chose Arcana (Cristóbal Vicente) 
Gilles Jacob chose L’homme à la caméra (Dziga Vertov) 
Naomi Kawase chose Reminiscences of a Journey to Lithuania (Jonas Mekas) 
Kim Longinotto chose Into the Abyss (Werner Herzog) 
Samira Makhmalbaf chose Afghan Alphabet (Mohsen Makhmalbaf) 
Alanis Obomsawin chose Reel Injun (Catherine Bainbridge, Neil Diamond, Jeremiah Hayes) 
Laura Poitras chose Blowjob (Andy Warhol) et Crossroads (Bruce Conner) 
Jia Zhang Ke chose El cielo gira (Mercedes Álvarez).


Share your love
Tue Steen Müller
Tue Steen Müller

Müller, Tue Steen
Documentary Consultant and Critic, DENMARK

Worked with documentary films for more than 20 years at the Danish Film Board, as press officer, festival representative and film consultant/commissioner. Co-founder of Balticum Film and TV Festival, Filmkontakt Nord, Documentary of the EU and EDN (European Documentary Network).
Awards: 2004 the Danish Roos Prize for his contribution to the Danish and European documentary culture. 2006 an award for promoting Portuguese documentaries. 2014 he received the EDN Award “for an outstanding contribution to the development of the European documentary culture”. 2016 The Cross of the Knight of the Order for Merits to Lithuania. 2019 a Big Stamp at the 15th edition of ZagrebDox. 2021 receipt of the highest state decoration, Order of the Three Stars, Fourth Class, for the significant contribution to the development and promotion of Latvian documentary cinema outside Latvia. In 2022 he received an honorary award at DocsBarcelona’s 25th edition having served as organizer and programmer since the start of the festival.
From 1996 until 2005 he was the first director of EDN (European Documentary Network). From 2006 a freelance consultant and teacher in workshops like Ex Oriente, DocsBarcelona, Archidoc, Documentary Campus, Storydoc, Baltic Sea Forum, Black Sea DocStories, Caucadoc, CinéDOC Tbilisi, Docudays Kiev, Dealing With the Past Sarajevo FF as well as programme consultant for the festivals Magnificent7 in Belgrade, DOCSBarcelona, Verzio Budapest, Message2Man in St. Petersburg and DOKLeipzig. Teaches at the Zelig Documentary School in Bolzano Italy.

Articles: 3866